Life in an envelope addressed to myself.

December 8, 2010

I come to a forest clearing
on my life’s journey
sit down
and wait for you.
__________

In waking life I walk
in dreams I sprint
head
thrown
back.
__________

Walking uphill
backwards
I see my life
laid out
before me.
__________

If I freeze
this moment in time
will I be able
to thaw it out
later?
__________

In old mirrors
I’m not wearing
glasses.
__________

In a hall
of mirrors
I see all
my
flaws.
__________

Trying to turn back time
I move
anti-clockwise.
__________

Happiness is
a word
I’m starting
to spell
properly.
__________

My mouth
a window
I open it
to let some air
in.
__________

In the shade
of a lemon tree
I find peace.
__________

Oar blades cleave the water
as I row on
into the blue.
__________

Scraping mirror glass
while shaving the face
of the man
I’d like to be.
__________

I wake
to find the other side of the bed
already made.
__________

You only see the tip of the iceberg
of my hopes and dreams,
of my life.
__________

Memories of you
in a cardboard box
stored in the attic.
__________

Washed up
on the surf
of your
crashing
indifference.
__________

I place my steady
hand on the tracks and feel the
cool hum of power.
__________

Jumping on the spot
faster and faster
pure abandon
can’t stop
can you?
__________

I place my palm
on a stone
and feel
yesterday’s
warmth.
__________

It takes four and a half minutes
for me
to realise
my life
makes sense.
__________

Lying on my bed
half a sky away
from you.
__________

‘Closure’
is a word
that has
seven
letters.

4 Responses to “Life in an envelope addressed to myself.”

  1. A beautiful collection, Peter…

  2. Heather said

    Inspirar munt de poemes.
    Com un riu de paraules.
    Hidratant pell seca.

  3. Dani H said

    All wonderful, Peter, but I especially like ~

    “Scraping mirror glass
    while shaving the face
    of the man
    I’d like to be.”

    i look in a mirror
    and see the face
    of a woman
    i don’t understand
    living a life
    unexpected

  4. Andi said

    Happy Christmas, Peter!

Leave a Reply

