Whorefrost: Winter’s Power / White Beauty.

December 19, 2010

Snow’s flakes
gather
on my outstretched hand
but do not
melt.
__________

Winter’s throat
thick with snow
coughs up white.
__________

Naked trees
slice
winter’s light.
__________

Snow-wreathed
roadkill:
still life.
__________

I walk down
a lonely
moonlit street
with winter’s hands
in my pockets.
__________

Snowflakes in my eyes
I see winter
in shades of white.
__________

Winter’s core
is warm
and breathes softly.
__________

With a steady hand
I open
the first window
of your
advent calendar.
__________

Winter music
you dance across
my frozen eyes.
__________

Icicles drip
salty tears
near the ocean.
__________

I snap off an icicle
and plunge it
into my snowman heart.
__________

Winter weeps sleet
and snow’s light
fades.
__________

Snow’s weight
flake upon flake
presses down.
__________

Winter solstice sun
flares, flickers
and dies.
__________

Snow
on headlights
never melts.
__________

Frost on my windowsill
moths spar with the
candle flame.
__________

A midwinter night’s dream –
take my hand
walk with me.
__________

Snowflakes fall
in random patterns
like thoughts.
__________

Snow drifts
in beautiful shapes
and forms.
__________

Snow falls
settles on her broken heart
a plastercast of
winter’s healing
power.
__________

White fire
licks the ice
but does not burn.
__________

Snow hides
depth
and weight.
__________

In a snowflake flurry
I walk whiteblind
snow melting in my eyes
cold heat
white fire passion
flame-licked mind
I stamp my foot
shattering ice
bend down and
dig out a body of earth.
I straighten
look across
the flat sky and
begin to walk
into the west
into the white
at the violet hour
to dissolve
to become one
with you.

6 Responses to “Whorefrost: Winter’s Power / White Beauty.”

  1. A wonderful series, Peter: at times chilling, at times very warm. I love the icicle in the snowman’s heart and the moths on the windowsill…and the long piece is alternately forlorn and hopeful: beautiful.

  2. Reading this, I can feel the winter in you. Namasté, my brother.

  3. I love this:
    With a steady hand
    I open
    the first window
    of your
    advent calendar.

  4. dani said

    I love the entire series, Peter. Especially that you are describing winter from so many different perspectives. My absolute favorite though ~

    “Winter’s core
    is warm
    and breathes softly.”

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

