I share the sky with you

February 28, 2011

In an open field
I pull down the night sky
and wrap it around me.
__________

The sky un-paints itself
as twilight
takes hold.
__________

Twilight’s fingers
zip up
day’s light.
__________

Clouds drift
like snow
against blue walls.
__________

Star-strewn canvas
I only see the patterns
..the brushstrokes..
when I close
my eyes.
__________

On tiptoes I reach up
to touch a vapour trail
to take me
to you
half a sky away.
__________

Pockets full of stars
I hold up my hands
to the night sky.
__________

Polaroid sky
the clouds are still
wet.
__________

Slate sky
chalk clouds
dust in my hair.
__________

The unbearable beauty
of the blue sky
makes
time
stop.
__________

I make a wish
look up at the sky
and blow out the stars.
__________

Sticking stars
on night’s
velvet velcro.
__________

Church steeples
puncture
a lowering sky.
__________

Hole in the night sky
stoppered by
a full moon.
__________

Tear-streaked sky
March rain
tastes salty
on my
lips.

4 Responses to “I share the sky with you”

  1. dani said

    wow, Peter! these are among my very favorite of all of your amazing poems. stunning!

  2. beezknez said

    lovely rythmetics to your writing < if lol what i wrote then is such a word this word comes to my mind when i read your poetry visual emotion like music The Unbearable Beauty are awesome words too.. thankq will buzz around now and sit and read Beez 🙂

  3. […] ……………………………………………….Twilight’s fingers z..… Read More […]

  4. Peter you are purely exquisite. I love reading these all about the sky but each one a different variety!

Leave a Reply

