Your Voice

March 8, 2011

I close my eyes
and fall backwards
caught in a warm sea
of salty soft consonants
and foam-flecked vowels
rolling over
bobbing
swept along
in a smiling stream
coming up for air
then plunging
once again
into your words
your voice
liquid air
that floods my mind
drenching my soul
making my heart bloom
pulling me up
out of myself
..and I open
my laughing
loving
loved
eyes.

(Entered as part of OneShotWednesday week 36)

13 Responses to “Your Voice”

  1. Have you been listening to a welsh person talk? Hehee Peter, this was soft sensuous and extremely sexy, right up my street. Loved the bare openess in the freeverse

  2. brian said

    pulling me up out of myself…and knowing you are loved….two great things in life…nice one shot!

  3. dustus said

    “liquid air
    that floods my mind”

    Nice. Also like the way the speaker almost seems tongue-tied at the end.

  4. kolembo said

    Ooooo, ya, I fell! I read it the first time and wasn’t prepared for the sensual slip into the whirlpool, read it over and was delighted by it.

    It’s super…

    …of salty soft consonants
    and foam-flecked vowels…

    super.

  5. lovely flow (no pun intended)great description and word choice…very calming..thanks for sharing..pete

  6. siubhan said

    There is such fluidity in this, so fitting for the imagery you use. The “loving/ loved/ eyes” was an almost magical ending.

  7. I adore this beautiful writing of your’s 🙂

  8. […] I close my eyes and fall backwards caught in a warm sea of salty soft co … Read More […]

  9. Shashi said

    What a beautiful word play..
    ‘caught in a warm sea
    of salty soft consonants
    and foam-flecked vowels
    rolling over
    bobbing’
    and perfect ending.. liked it so much…
    Thanks for sharing…

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/03/whispers-memories-from-living.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

  10. Sulthana said

    This is beautiful. It wraps you up in warmth and hugs you and flows so softly and beautifully.
    I liked especially that you added ‘loving, loved’ showing that the love is both ways, makes it thoughtful and whole.

  11. Peter that is gorgeousness wrapped up in a bouquet of black & white text! The best gift ever to anyone would be your words. I love it!

Leave a Reply

