The Slow Truth of Beauty

July 23, 2011

(Eleven short-form poems written whilst listening to ‘Loveless’ by My Bloody Valentine.)

A shallow present
penetrated
drips below my gaze.
_______

The past looms
doubt tiptoes
on warm ice.
_______

Elegy
to what comes before
when.
_______

Her voice flows
in and out
of me.
_______

Eyelids twitch
as my mouth sleeps
on yours.
_______

Sound breathed
between
words.
_______

Loneliness
the echo
of repetition.
_______

Streaming colours
the slow truth of beauty
held on a note.
_______

A sigh
blown
to a glance.
_______

Want drawn out
into a lingering line
of white.
_______

The immediacy
of a future
behind closed eyes.

(part of.. http://dversepoets.com/ week 2)

23 Responses to “The Slow Truth of Beauty”

  1. A real sense of internal centred stillness, whilst external\emotional landscapes, past & present are reflected, & a lovely simplicity unfolds until ‘streaming colours, the slow truth of beauty, held on a note’ (which is beautiful in itself). With this now stated, the long extended note, a long psychological pause, it feels clear that the structure of the piece, reflects that note, & once the release of stating it resonates, the note begins to change, & a future can be glimpsed. I respond to this as one poem personally.. Lovely!

  2. Eva Von Pelt said

    Wow! Each piece has such a wonderful imagery…so different, but they go together beautifully : ) I really enjoyed it!

  3. switch said

    I love these short form poems. I’d love to play with some visuals….if I may…….. thank you….. for your talent shared….and being you.
    switch

  4. Heaven said

    i am currently in love with haiku forms… so your post is lovely to read.

    music to the ears too~

  5. brian said

    these are gorgeous and play well together…my fav being my mouth sleeping in yours..niceplay there…

  6. poemblaze said

    All fine. I think the last one is my favorite.

  7. Streaming colours
    the slow truth of beauty
    held on a note

    Want drawn out
    into a lingering line
    of white.

    It’s all lovely but these lines particularly struck me. As a painter I associate color with beauty and white with flatness. David Batchelor writes about the Western World’s fear of color and desire to control through the application, especially in modernism and minimalism, of white. The embrace of love explodes with multifarious color and its truncation is a singular line of white. Likely not what you intended but I enjoy that you give the reader space to explore within your work. Many writers insist on their meaning and don’t generously offer the reader any room. Thank you.

    • expatinCAT said

      Thanks Anna. What you say about giving the reader space is poignant because for the last few posts I’ve been tempted to ‘explain’ the poems…but I held back. I agree with you that providing the reader room is a vital part of the writer-poem-reader relationship.

  8. Beautifully crafted, exquisite lines building one on the other. Visit me at http://parolavivace.blogspot.com xj

  9. hedgewitch said

    Each of these has its own pull and drag, and together they make a glittering neural net of image and experience melded. “Loneliness/ the echo of/ repetition” particularly struck me as amazing observation/feeling. Excellent stuff.

    • expatinCAT said

      Thanks Joy. On this occasion I really tried to get the words to capture a feeling, a colour, a sound, an image…and go with my original idea, eschewing later changes.

  10. marousia said

    Gorgeous – so rich and textured – loved reading them all but this one is just sublime:

    A sigh
    blown
    to a glance.

  11. C Rose said

    So many gems given to us in this!

    “Eyelids twitch
    as my mouth sleeps
    on yours.”

    Loved the imagery! ~ Rose

  12. doubt tiptoes on warm ice

    the slow truth of beauty held on a single note

    Absolutely delicious brevity.

  13. very interesting and some great word-economy here without the poetry suffering. Particularly like this one –

    Eyelids twitch
    as my mouth sleeps
    on yours.

  14. Do hate to be a broken record, but the above stanza picked out by Luke is my fave as well. Each one of these, though, contain strength within the main flow of the piece. Wonderful ~

Leave a Reply

