Snow leopards don’t leave tracks in summer

July 30, 2011

An axe
cutting snow
white noise.
___

The futility
of snow
on snow.
___

The weight
of white
snowdrops buckle.
___

Learning to live
without
grey.
___

Soft light cuts the darkness
its blade
against my cheek.
___

I crave light
I am February’s
bastard son.
___

Light breaks free
from
shadow.
___

Trading places
with my shadow
I follow myself.
___

No clouds go
where my shadow
walks.
___

The colour of acceleration
glimpsed
in movement…

6 Responses to “Snow leopards don’t leave tracks in summer”

  1. Heaven said

    nice form… have you ever tried haiku ?

    these lines are thought provoking:

    I crave light
    I am February’s
    bastard son.

    • expatinCAT said

      These are haiku, but free form (not 5-7-5). My birthday is in February so that probably sheds light on that particular poem. 🙂

  2. booguloo said

    My favorite.. short and filled with emotion. Nice write.

  3. Poets United said

    Thank you for joining Poets United. We look forward to visiting your blog and reading poetry. We also look forward to seeing you in our community.

    Ink runs from the corners of my mouth
    There is no happiness like mine.
    I have been eating poetry.
    ~Mark Strand

  4. So beautiful : ) I love:

    Learning to live
    without
    grey.

    Wow….

Leave a Reply

