Delible

October 2, 2011

I harbour no rancour
yet if black ink were spilt
upon unblank paper
would the words be white
with honest-to-god goodness?

Bones word-bruised
marrow unmarred
chipped porcelain no less pure
chips the bared teeth
of hollow hubris
naked nothing.

The alliteration of lies
the reading between the lines
knows no bounds
promethean conceit
Loki’s locus
the cursor
is my full stop.

(part of Open Link Night week 12 – http://dversepoets.com )

45 Responses to “Delible”

  1. First stanza is my favorite, though the whole thing is well-written and thought provoking. Nice 🙂

  2. Someone with your level of talent deserves a far more fitting tagline than ‘just another poetry blog’. This one shakes the ground.

  3. So deep, it touches the core…

    unspoken

  4. Intriguing is the word that rises to my lips on reading these fine words ‘spilt’

  5. brian said

    nice…really like that last stanza…there is power in it…who are we really lying to when we spill across the page….

  6. Pat Hatt said

    Interesting questions you pose, could be white I suppose or maybe it would bleed through. Very thought provoking piece!

  7. claudia said

    intriguing and intense write…almost like giving birth..

  8. I see you there with scalpel slicing words until you end up with something like this.

    Ouch. But as honest-to-god good as poetic candor can get.

  9. “The cursor is my full stop” and the backspace key is handy…
    Very original thought here, well said, well presented. Very precise indeed. Excellent. G.

  10. kez said

    really liked this …..thank you for sharing x

  11. “the cursor is my full stop” – What a great ending. The opening and closing stanzas are my favorite. Well done, and I agree with Anna, so get working on a new tagline 🙂

  12. ayala said

    intense and good….the last stanza my favorite 🙂

  13. leah said

    Nice to meet you. what strong words

  14. I keep reading the first stanza over and over again. So much imagery. So many meanings. I always love paper and ink symbolism (and just any writing symbolism in general). -applauds-

    – Nick

  15. I really like:

    “The alliteration of lies
    the reading between the lines…”

    Wonderful words!
    P.S. I agree with Anna : )
    -Eva

  16. I would have to agree with Anna re: tagline …your poetry is beautiful. Loved the first stanza “I harbour no rancour
    yet if black ink were spilt
    upon unblank paper
    would the words be white
    with honest-to-god goodness?” ~ wonderful, Peter

  17. very interesting and yes the big question who are we lying to this one is hard. I have a sister who does not know anything but to do this and it is sad
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/04/memories/#comment-1442

  18. Morning said

    powerful words.

    Happy Rally.

  19. Crystal said

    Lovely – a truly hot write! I love the title – a rather obscure and seldom used word- it’s opposite so much more familiar.

  20. magicalmysticalteacher said

    “The alliteration of lies” is a delicious-sounding line!

    My Contribution

  21. Oh, that damned trickster cursor…

  22. tashtoo said

    Find it VERY difficult to lie to the paper…to the point sometimes, what I end up sharing with all you wonderful poets, shocks me! There are certain subjects I do my best to avoid for this reason, as most times, its my subconscious that controls my pen! Loved the write and the questions it has raised…

  23. Richarde said

    Mmm. Though I do like the opening line of this poem, I must say the second stanza is my favorite: “Bones word bruised” and other alliterative word pairings give not only meaning but internal rhythm. Very nice.

  24. wow, this is some good stuff! this piece is so thought provoking from beginning to end! please check my entry too: “A Sudden Rush”

  25. I do like the thought provoking end of the first stanza, and find the poem as a whole very beautiful (though I fear some of it went over my head)! *smile*

  26. Beautifully written, the pen never lies!

  27. […] from a blog called ExpatinCAT’s Blog, which is also completely new to me, and a poem called Delible. The first thing that strikes me is that I, once again, can’t just dive into this one. […]

  28. Great ending. Plus I love the line

    ‘Bones word-bruised’

    Here is my entry:
    http://jackedwardspoetry.blogspot.com/2011/10/everyone.html

  29. […] was from a blog called ExpatinCAT’s Blog, which is also completely new to me, and a poem called Delible. The first thing that strikes me is that I, once again, can’t just dive into this one. Beautiful […]

  30. Looks like that tag line’s got to go ;)!

  31. Cherlyn said

    I love the second stanza, but the whole poem is wonderful – definitely thought prevoking! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Here’s mine for the rally: http://cursemymetalbody.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/poetry-thursday-68/

  32. The first and third stanzas serve well as bookends for this visual (and visceral) poem. For me, it’s the middle stanza that carries the weight.

    “Bones word-bruised
    marrow unmarred”

    I love this poem.

    Namaste……….cj

  33. anjum wasim dar said

    an effective compositon makes one think, deep thoughtful questions-and the best line’reading between the lines’,a pleasure to read

  34. It’s rare a poem grabs me instantly from the first line, but this not only grabbed me, but punched me too.

    “I harbour no rancour
    yet if black ink were spilt
    upon unblank paper
    would the words be white
    with honest-to-god goodness?”

    Why does “honest-to-god goodness” feel so, so perfect in this poem? I love it.

  35. ……just brilliant………

  36. […] nomination goes to  Peter for his extraordinary piece of […]

  37. shail said

    I loved the question in the first stanza. Would the words be white… indeed, would it?

  38. Jacqui BB said

    Last Stanza is my favorite.

    Lies know no bounds but your poem is true

  39. Malini said

    Wow! very nice.
    Last stanza is my favourite. esp
    “the cursor
    is my full stop”

Leave a comment